International Academy of Food Science and Technology (IAFoST)

Scroll down to meet the members of the Academy Executive Council, inducted at the IUFoST World Congress in Singapore for the Term November 2022 - September 2024. 

The International Academy of Food Science and Technology (IAFoST) is an internationally recognised group of elected distinguished food scientists and technologists who collectively form a pool of scientific expertise in food science and technology from which IUFoST may draw non-aligned expert advice on scientific matters.

The purposes of the International Academy are:

  1. To identify and recognize individuals distinguished globally by their scientific and professional contributions to food science and technology
  2. To foster international cooperation and exchange of information,
  3. To promote food science and technology and other sciences of importance for this area, and
  4. To stimulate international education and training in food science and technology.

Elected Fellows of the Academy represent no organisation but serve as independent persons to work and promote high standards of ethics and scientific endeavours. IAFoST does more than simply afford recognition of its Fellows. It takes its own initiatives, with appropriate co-ordination and agreement of the IUFoST Board, to promote food science and technology, stimulate education and training, and improve international cooperation.

Members of the Academy Council November 2022 - September 2024

Dr. Ogugua Charles Aworh 


Dr. Ogugua Charles Aworh is Lifetime Achievement Award recipient and past Academy Chair of the Nigerian Institute of Food Science and Technology (NIFST). He obtained a B.Sc. (Hons) from the University of Ibadan (UI), Nigeria; MSc and Ph.D. in Food Science and Technology from Cornell University, USA. He is Distinguished Professor and served three-terms as Head, Department of Food Technology, UI. He has been visiting Research Fellow/Professor at University of Leeds, UK; University of British Columbia, Canada; and Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellow, Hamburg University of Technology, Germany. He is pioneer Chairman of UI’s Multidisciplinary Central Research Laboratory. His areas of research include post-harvest technology and processing, food safety, biotechnology, and capacity building. He has over 100 scientific publications and has supervised 120 MSc and 17 PhD students. He led WAAFoST’s [IUFoST Regional Body] contribution to IAFoST/ IUFoST Global Challenges Report and is mentor for African Women in Agricultural Research and Development and IUFoST young scientists.

Dr. Fereidoon Shahidi

President Elect

Dr. Shahidi is University Research Professor, Memorial University of Newfoundland; Founder and Director of the International Society of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods (ISNFF), Disciplinary Group of IUFoST; Founder and Editor-in-Chief of related publications (Journal of Food Bioactives, etc), one of the most cited authors in Food Science and Technology. He is Chair of the IUFoST Scientific Council and a Fellow of IAFoST.

Dr. Aman Wirakartakusumah

Past President

Dr. Aman Wirakartakusumah, an IAFoST Fellow, is a scientific leader, experienced administrator, a diplomat at the highest levels internationally and is known as a person who is dedicated to service above self who brings people and viewpoints together. He has a strong grasp of IUFoST’s issues and is committed, passionate and has unbounded drive in everything he does for the Union. He was Indonesian Ambassador to UNESCO, Rector of two Indonesian universities, and highly‐regarded chair of IUFoST’s Education Committee and the World Bank‐initiated Global Food Safety Curricula Initiative. He is a member of the Indonesia Academy of Sciences, has led Indonesia in establishing educational standards and is actively engaged with ASEAN/APEC countries in implementing food safety policies, measures and educational standardisation.

Dr. Stephane Guilbert


Stephane Guilbert is Professor in Food Science at Montpellier SupAgro, France. His research is grouped around three main axes i) state of water in foods in relation to their physicochemical and microbiological stability, ii) Mass transfer (gas, water, solutes) in food and packaging and iii) emerging technologies to face the new challenges of sustainable processing of agricultural products. He is co-editor of Innovative Food Science & Technologies (IFSET) journal edited by Elsevier. He is a Fellow of IAFoST.

Dr. Chin-Kun Wang


Dr. Chin-Kun Wang is a distinguished professor in Chung Shan MedicaI University (CSMU). He served as the Chair of the School of Nutrition, the Dean of the College of Health Care and Management, Vice President and President of CSMU and contributed much in health promotion. When he served as the President of ʹʹNutrition Society of Taiwan (NST)’’, successfully promoted the role of dietitian for human health with School Sanitary Law and National Nutrition Act. He organized two international conferences for International Society for Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods (ISNFF) in 2008 and 2013 respectively and served as the president of ISNFF (2014-2016). He organized and presided over the International Conference of Nutrition and Physical Activity (NAPA) in 2018 and the International Conference of Food Safety and Health (FSAH) in 2019.