Announcing New Fellows of the International Academy of Food Science and Technology (IAFoST)

The International Union of Food Science and Technology (IUFoST) is proud to present the 14th class of outstanding food scientists, engineers and technologists to be elected to the International Academy of Food Science and Technology (IAFoST).

These 25 new Fellows will be inducted by the Academy Executive Council, led by Dr. Charles Aworh, Academy President, at the 22nd World Congress of Food Science and Technology to be held in Rimini, Italy 8-12 September 2024.

Francisco J. Barba, Spain

Phil Bremer, New Zealand

Osvaldo Campanella, USA

Lijun Chen, China

Kuan-Cheng Cheng, Taiwan

Marco Dalla Rosa, Italy

Ferruh Erdogdu, Turkey

Haiyan Gao, China

Maduebibisi Ofo Iwe, Nigeria

Bo Jiang, China

Johannes le Coutre, Australia

Shingo Matsukawa, Japan

Alexander Mathys, Switzerland

Olusola Bandele Oyewole, Nigeria

Dolores O’Riordan, Ireland

Min-Hsiung Pan, Taiwan

Zhongli Pan, USA

Conrad Oswald Perera, New Zealand

Rekha S. Singhal, India

Baoguo Sun, China

Dongxiao Sun-Waterhouse, New Zealand

Brijesh Kumar Tiwari, Ireland

Declan Troy, Ireland

Jason Wan, USA

Jianping Wu, Canada


Nominations for each new roster are made by IAFoST Fellows and/or IUFoST Adhering Bodies. Those elected to IAFoST by the Fellows of the Academy are acknowledged by their peers as outstanding representatives of international food science and technology.

The International Academy of Food Science (IAFoST) collectively forms a diverse pool of scientific expertise in food science and technology and related disciplines from which IUFoST draws non-aligned expert advice on scientific matters. Fellows serve as independent professional leaders who engage and endorse high standards of ethics and scientific endeavors.

International Academy of Food Science and Technology (IAFoST) Council: 

 President, Dr. Charles Aworh, Past President, Dr. Aman Wirakartakusumah, President Elect Dr. Fereidoon Shahidi, Councillors Dr. Stephane Guilbert and Dr. Chin-Kung Wang.

IUFoST - The International Union of Food Science and Technology stimulates the ongoing exchange of knowledge in those scientific disciplines and technologies relating to the expansion, improvement, distribution and conservation of the world's food supply. IUFoST is the  global Food Science and Technology disciplinary representative elected by its multi-disciplinary peers into the International Science Council (ISC) and works with related United Nations organizations such as WHO, FAO, UNDP and UNIDO. IUFoSTʼs Disciplinary and Special Interest Groupings include ISFE – International Society of Food Engineers, ISOPOW – Symposium on Properties of Water – ISNFF –  International Society for Functional Foods and Nutraceuticals, ISFANS –  International Society of Food Applications of Nanoscale Science,  Global Food Regulatory Science Society – GFoRSS.

Website: Contact: 22nd World Congress of Food Science and Technology, Rimini, Italy 8 – 12 September 2024.