The formal inauguration of The International Union of Food Science and Technology was held during the Third International Congress of Food Science and Technology, convened in 1970 in Washington, DC, USA.

At the 1995 world congress, IUFoST publicly committed itself in its Budapest Declaration, which opened ‘We declare our determination to work for the elimination of hunger and the reduction of all forms of malnutrition through the world.’ Read the Budapest Declaration.

In August 2010, The International Union of Food Science and Technology (IUFoST) released its outline plan of work for the global food science and technology community. Known as the Cape Town Declaration, its principles were unanimously accepted by delegates to the XIIIth General Assembly of IUFoST during its world congress held in South Africa. The IUFoST General Assembly re-affirmed its commitment made in the Budapest Declaration in which IUFoST recognises the indispensable role of food science and technology in achieving the aim of eliminating food insecurity worldwide. Essential to the Cape Town Declaration is the right of every individual to have access to adequate and safe food.

IUFoST members, who are the national scientific organisations worldwide working within the Union, outlined the primary areas of work for food scientists, technologists and engineers in the Cape Town Declaration:

  • Promotion of the safety and quality of all foods.
  • Reduction of physical and nutritional losses in the food value chain.
  • Adaptation and improvement of traditional foods and processes, while respecting the traditional, ethical, cultural and religious aspects involved.
  • Beneficial application of science and technology.
  • Development and dissemination of improved knowledge of food composition.
  • Facilitation of domestic and international food trade.
  • Development of food materials with improved functionality.
  • More efficient and environmentally sustainable food production, processing and packaging.
  • Education in nutrition, food science and technology at all levels.

The General Assembly, which represents over 300,000 food scientists, technologists and engineers from more than 75 countries, is committed to implementing the principles of the Cape Town Declaration. It will re-assemble at each congress to review priorities, actions and deliverables. Read the Cape Town Declaration.

Further information on IUFoST’s history

Listing of IUFoST Past Presidents

Year President Country
1970 George Stewart USA
1974 John Hawthorn UK
1978 Joseph Hulse Canada
1983 Richard Hall USA
1987 Eric von Sydow Sweden
1991 Ted Hood Ireland
1995 Peter Biacs Hungary
1999 Walter Spiess Germany
2003 Alan Mortimer Australia
2006 David Lineback USA
2008 Geoffrey Campbell-Platt UK
2012 Pingfan Rao China
2014 Rickey Yada Canada
2016 Dietrich Knorr Austria
2018 Mary K. Schmidl USA