IUFoST promotes international cooperation and professional organization among food scientists, technologists and engineers and fosters the exchange of knowledge relating to the expansion, improvement, distribution and conservation of the worlds food supply. IUFoST holds international and regional congresses, conferences, workshops and symposia, and encourages appropriate education and training in food science and technology.

The Delegates of IUFoST from the national scientific bodies (Adhering Bodies) adhering to IUFoST advise IUFoST policies and actions through matters referred to them and/or by electronic vote.

Resolutions dealing with scientific and technical cooperation are adopted by a majority of the delegates voting. Resolutions are advisory to the Adhering Bodies, and may be adjusted to comply with the laws and conditions of the nations involved. Each member nation is allocated a number of voting delegates to the General Assembly on the basis of its annual fee assessmen to a maximum of three . The Governing Council has the power to admit an adhering body to non-voting membership without fee. These Voting Delegates can be involved in an electronic General Assembly at any time during each term (congress to congress) according to issues presented to it for consultation. Adhering Bodies of IUFoST designate their voting representatives and the IUFoST Governing Council vote on IUFoST matters.  Any other category of involvement in IUFoST is in a non-voting capacity.

The Governing Council executes the policies as agreed by the Delegates of the National Scientific Bodies.  Its responsibilities include authorization to decide on time and place of the world food congresses and other events sponsored by IUFoST and to assist host nations in the planning of such events. It acts on IUFoST membership applications. The Governing Council is elected by the voting delegates of the national scientific bodies (Adhering Bodies)  to direct the affairs of the Union and to work in the best interests of all members of IUFoST, not an individual adhering body.  The 2010 Cape Town Declaration is the blueprint for the work of the Union.  Delegates meet to review progress on the work of the Union according to the Cape Town Declaration at each world congress.

IUFoST Governing Council term 2016-2018


President: Dr. Dietrich Knorr, Austria

Past President: Dr. Rickey Yada, Canada 

President Elect  Dr. Mary Schmidl, USA

Scientific Council Chair: Professor Lucia Anelich, South Africa

Secretary-General/Treasurer: Judith Meech, Canada

Regular Members

Darunee Edwards, Thailand

Dr. Michael Knowles, Greece

Rosemary Maguire, South Africa

Professor Mariusz Piskula, Poland

Professor Jose Aguilera, Chile

Dr. Lara Hannah Wakim, Lebanon

Academy President: Professor Ruth Oniang'o, Kenya

The Board implements strategies to achieve the objectives set by the Governing Council, approving or modifying working groups, task forces and committee membership, preparing for approval and release the activities of the working groups, scientific commissions, and other Union bodies and approving country membership applications.  The Board provides general oversight for the Secretariat.

The Scientific Council's responsibilities include maintenance of the scientific standard and integrity of all IUFoST activities. It is also responsible for recommendations to the Secretary-General, with the advice from the designated Fellows of the Academy, chairs and members of working groups, task forces to carry out specific tasks such as preparation of position papers and offering of expert advice.  The Scientific Council does not play a role in the Union's financial affairs.  The Scientific Council is an elected body.  Members of the Scientific Council are all Fellows who are nominated by other Academy Fellows and elected by the voting delegates of the National Scientific Bodies (Adhering Bodies).

Members of the IUFoST Scientific Council, term 2016-2018

Chair: Professor Lucia Anelich, South Africa

Past Chair: Dr.Daryl Lund,  USA

Chair Elect: Dr. V. Prakash, India

Councillor: Dr. Rui Hai Lui, USA

Councillor: Professor Fereidoon Shahidi, Canada

Academy President:  Professor Ruth Oniang'o, Kenya


International Academy of Food Science and Technology (IAFoST)

The International Academy of Food Science and Technology (IAFoST) is an elected
group of distinguished food scientists, technologists and engineers who serve
as Fellows of the Academy. Academy Fellows represent no organisation and serve
as independent persons. The Academy collectively forms a pool of scientific
expertise from which the Union may draw non-aligned expert advice on scientific
matters. The Academy nominates candidates for the Scientific Council for
General Assembly approval. The Academy nominates the Distinguished Lecturer for
each IUFoST world congress.

The Executive Council of the Academy (AEC) directs the work of the Academy. The Academy Executive Council is elected from amongst the Academy Fellows and by the Academy Fellows.

Members of the Academy Executive Council, term 2016-2018

President: Professor Ruth Oniang'o, Kenya

Past President: Delia Rodriguez-Amaya, Brazil

President Elect: Professor Paul Singh, USA

Councillor: Professor Been-Huang Chiang, China - Taipei

Councillor - Alastair Hicks, Thailand/Australia

(The IUFoST Secretary-General is Secretary to the Academy)

For additional information on the International Academy: www.iufost.org/international-academy

Assisting the Governing Council are numerous policy and ad hoc committees, working groups and task forces that address research and policy objectives.

IUFoST also works with other international organization to achieve its policy objectives.  IUFoST is one of only 31 Unions worldwide elected to membership in the International Council for Science (ICSU).  In addition, IUFoST works with FAO, WHO, and many other UN bodies and scientific unions and international bodies to strengthen food science and technology for humanity.

Administration and daily operations of IUFoST are carried
out by the General Secretariat, which is the official address of the Union:

112 Bronte Road, Oakville, Ontario, Canada L6L 3C1

Email: secretariat@iufost.org, tel: + 1 905 815 1926.