IAFoST - The Global Focus of Food Science Excellence

The International Union of Food Science and Technology (IUFoST) is proud to present the tenth class of outstanding food scientists and technologists to be elected to the International Academy of Food Science and Technology (IAFoST). These 30 new Fellows will be inducted during the 18th World Congress of Food Science and Technology (World Food Congress), 21-25 August, in Dublin, Ireland. The new Fellows are:



Lilia Ahrne - Sweden V.M. Balasubramaniam - USA Peter Ben Embarak - Switzerland Siree Chaiseri- Thailand Nathalie Gontard - France Leon Gorris - The Netherlands Mansel Griffiths - Canada Purwiyatno Hariyadi - Indonesia Marc Hendrickx - Belgium Karsten Kristiansen - Denmark Olga Martin-Belloso - Spain Antonio Meirelles - Brazil Richard Mithen - UK Narendra Narain - Brazil Nik Ismail Nik Daud - Malaysia Hyun Jin Park - Korea Paola Pittia - Italy Jamuna Prakash - India Jairo Romero - Colombia Yrjo Roos - Ireland John Rumble - USA Joseph Scimeca - USA Xianming Shi - China Petros Taoukis - Greece Purnendu Vasavada - USA Chin Kun Wang - Taiwan Shuo Wang - China Mingyong Xie - China Youling Xiong - USA Weibiao Zhou - Singapore

Nominations for each new roster are made by IUFoST Adhering Bodies and IAFoST Fellows. Fellows elected to IAFoST are acknowledged by their peers as outstanding representatives of international food science and technology. The International Academy of Food Science collectively forms a pool of scientific expertise in food science and technology from which IUFoST draws non-aligned expert advice on scientific matters. Fellows serve as independent persons to work and promote high standards of ethics and scientific endeavours.

Academy Executive Council:

President: Professor Delia Rodriguez-Amaya (Brazil)
Past President: Professor Dr. Ing. Dr. h.c. Walter Spiess (Germany)

President Elect: Dr. Ruth Oniang'o (Kenya)

Councillors: Dr. Been-Huang Chiang (Taiwan), Dr. Paul Singh (USA)

The International Union of Food Science and Technology (IUFoST) is the global scientific organisation representing over 300,000 food scientists and technologists in industry, government and academia from more than 75 countries. IUFoST is the elected global scientific representative of Food Science and Technology in ICSU (International Council for Science) and the Union represents food science and technology to other international organisations such as WHO, FAO, UNDP, UNIDO and others.

The International Academy of Food Science and Technology (IAFoST) is a statutory component of IUFoST. IUFoST has five regional groupings, ALACCTA representing Central and South America, EFFoST representing Europe, FIFSTA representing the ASEAN countries, MENAFoST representing the Middle East and North Africa, and WAAFoST representing West Africa.

IUFoST's focus is food safety, food security, education and professionalism. IUFoST organises world food congresses, among many other activities, to stimulate the ongoing exchange of knowledge in those scientific disciplines and technologies relating to the expansion, improvement, distribution and conservation of the world's food supply.