IUFoST Governing Council Board Members 2018 – 2020

IUFoST Governing Council Board Members 2018-2020

All of the IUFoST  Board Members have distinguished careers related to food science and technology, extensive governance experience, and a comprehensive knowledge of IUFoST, its Adhering Bodies, and the Union’s Mission and Vision. 

Professor Mansel Griffiths, Canada: Former Canada Food Safety Chair; Former advisor to Maple Leaf Foods and Dairy Industry in Canada and numerous appointments internationally; Founding Director, Canadian Research Institute for Food Safety and the Food Safety & Quality Assurance graduate program at the University of Guelph; editor for many international journals, such as Journal of Food Protection, International Journal of Food Microbiology, Journal of Dairy Science, among others; Professor Emeritus at University of Guelph; appointed to the Board in late May 2019.

Dr. Suzana Caetano da Silva Lannes, Brazil: Professor at University of Sao Paulo, Brazil; Past President of Brazilian Adhering Body, SBCTA; Scientific Programme Chair, Member of the Executive Committee for IUFoST World Congress in Brazil 2012; Past  Director of ALACCTA; Editor-in-Chief of several Scientific Journals; author and co-author of numerous publications including Food Microstructure, Global Food Security and Wellness; national and international speaker; numerous Food Science and Technology patents granted and four In process; Director of The Brazilian Association of Scientific Editors; elected to the IUFoST Board by the General Assembly,in October 2018.

Dr. Gerald Moy, Switzerland, FIAFoST: retired staff scientist with World Health Organization and WHO liaison for IUFoST; co-author with Dr Ted Hood of IUFoST’s Victoria Falls Declaration (1994); co-editor  of “Food Safety Encyloepedia” (2014) and “Total Diet Studies” (2014) and author of many other publications; member of Editorial Board of Food Control; consultant for national and international organizations presently working in China, Germany and Lebanon; Fellow of the Interntional Union of Food Science and Technology; elected to the  Board by the General Assembly in October 2018.

Professor Ruth Oniang’o, Kenya: Editor-in-Chief, African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition and Development (AJFAND); Winner, African Food Prize (2017); Founder, Rural Outreach Program (ROP) Africa; IFAMA Distinguished Service Award Recipient (2014);

FORTUNE Magazine one of 30 Most Innovative Women in Food and Drink (2014); Adjunct Professor of Nutrition, TUFTS University; Past President of the IAFoST; Elected Nestle Global Board member until June 2019; Founder and Past President of Kenya Adhering Body; former Shadow Minister for Education and member of Kenyan Parliament; appointed to the Board in June 2019.

Prof. Dr. Vish Prakash, India: FRSC, FIFT, FiAFoST, FIAS, FNAAS, FINAE, FAFST(1). Former Distinguished Scientist of CSIR India; Former Director of CFTRI Mysore; Past President of IAFoST; Chair of the IUFoST World Congress in Mumbai 2018; Vice President of IUFoST Sister Union – International Union of Nutritional Sciences; Founding Chairman of IFRIFANS, India, the International Foundation for Research in Food and Nutrition Security; member of numerous scientific publication boards;  Chairman India Region of European Hygienic Engineering Design Group, Germany; Member, Global Phytonutrient Society (GPS) Tokyo, Japan; elected to the Board by the General Assembly in October 2018.

Dr. Pingfan Rao, China: Professor and Founding Director CAS.SIBS –  School of Food Science and Biotetchnology, Zhejiang Gongshang University; Past President of IUFoST; Honorary Vice President of the Chinese Institute of Food Science and Technology (CIFST); Chair of IUFoST World Congress in Shanghai 2008; Editor-in-Chief of Nature Journal The Science of Food; Past Director, Institute of Biotechnology, Fuzhou University; Past Vice President, Fuzhou University; Vice President of China ICSU Committee (now called International Science Council); Chair, Food and Energy Supply group of China Future Earth Committee; Global Alumni of Osaka University of Japan; Visiting Professor, Ulster University, UK; Fellow of the International Academy of Food Science and Technology; appointed to the Board in June 2019.                                                                                                    

Dr. Mary Schmidl, USA: FIFT, FIFST, FIAFoST;  Adjunct Professor, Department of Food Science and Nutrition, University of Minnesota. Past Chair of IUFoST Scientific Council; Past President of IFT; author and co-author of numerous publications; former Vice President of Science and Technology for the Humanetics Corporation; Former Director of Research, Clinical Division for Novartis (Nestle Inc.), which manufactures special dietary foods, wieght management products, medical food products and medical devices; Fellow of the International Union of Food Science and Technology; elected to the Board by the General Assembly in October 2018.

Dr. Fereidoon Shahidi, Canada: FACS, FAGFD-ACS, FAOCS, FCIC, FCIFST, FIAFoST, FIFT, FISNFF, FRSC; University Research Professor, Memorial University of Newfoundland; Founder and Director of the International Society of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods (ISNFF), Disciplinary Group of IUFoST; Founder and Editor-in-Chief of related publications (Journal of Food Bioactives, etc), one of the most cited authors in Food Science and Technology; seconded to the  Board as IUFoST Scientific Council Chair in June 2019; Fellow of the International Academy of Food Science and Technology.

Dr Shuo Wang, Distinguished Professor, Nankai University; Past President, Tianjin Science and Technology University; author and co-author of a number of articles and papers in his area of expertise; received his Ph.D. from Sydney University; in 2012 was awarded the National Award of Technology Improvement for his contribution to food science and technology; Distinguished Professor of Nankai University Medical School, heading Tianjin Key Laboratory of Food Science and Health; renowned expert in food chemistry/safety;  Fellow of the International Academy of Food Science and Technology; appointed to the Board November 2018.