2016-18 Scientific Council Members

The Scientific Council‘s responsibilities include maintenance of the scientific standard and integrity of all IUFoST activities. It is also responsible for recommendations to the Secretary-General, with the advice from the designated Fellows of the Academy, chairs and members of working groups, task forces to carry out specific tasks such as preparation of position papers and offering of expert advice.  The Scientific Council does not play a role in the Union’s financial affairs.  The Scientific Council is an elected body.  Members of the Scientific Council are all Fellows who are nominated by other Academy Fellows and elected by the voting delegates of the National Scientific Bodies (Adhering Bodies).

There are six members of the Scientific Council:

Chair –  Professor Lucia Anelich, South Africa

Professor Lucia Anelich, from South Africa has a PhD in Microbiology and is Extraordinary Associate Professor in the Department of Food Science at Stellenbosch University. She is an IAFoST Fellow, and owns her own food safety consulting and training business, Anelich Consulting, which she started in 2011. Prior to that, she established and headed up the Food Safety Initiative at the Consumer Goods Council of South Africa, before which she spent 25 years at the Tshwane University of Technology as Associate Professor and Head of Department Biotechnology and Food Technology. She acts as part-time Executive and Scientific Director of ILSI South Africa (since January 2013); is an Officer of the ICMSF and is a Trustee of the SAAFoST Foundation.

Past Chair: Dr. Daryl Lund, USA

Dr. Daryl Lund is an IAFoST Fellow, and was named one of 26 innovators in Food Engineering magazine’s 75th anniversary edition. He has served as a reviewer for the US National Science Foundation (the primary federal funding source for research funds in the US); the Swedish Research Foundation; the US National Institutes of Health; the USDA National Institute for Food and Agriculture Research; the US National Aeronautic and Space Administration; the US Food and Drug Administration; the University of Ghana; the Agricultural University at Bogor, Indonesia; the Brazil Research Foundation; and the University of Delaware, among many others. Dr. Lund was awarded the IUFoST Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2016 IUFoST World Congress of Food Science and Technology.

Chair Elect: Dr. V Prakash, India

Dr. V. Prakash is currently working as Distinguished Scientist of CSIR-India Food Science, Food Technology, Food Safety, Food and Nutrition Security, Nutraceuticals, Naturals, Nutritionals and Biotechnology and also in his capacity as Hon. Director of Research, Innovation, Development and Management at JSS Mahavidyapeetha at Mysore, India. Dr. Prakash is an IAFoST Fellow and has more than 50 patents to his credit. He is the Fellow of IFT and Vice President of IUNS. In 2014 he was decorated with Life Time Achievement Award of IUFoST at the Montreal Congress.  Dr. Prakash is Chair of the IUFoST World Congress to be held in Mumbai, India 2018.

Councillor: Dr. Rui Hai Liu, USA

Dr. Rui Hai Liu is a Professor in the Department of Food Science at Cornell University in Ithaca, NY. Liu received his Ph.D. in Toxicology from Cornell University, and also holds a M.D. and a M.S. in Nutrition and Food Toxicology. Dr. Liu is an IAFoST Fellow.  His research program is focused on diet and cancer, the effects of functional foods/nutraceuticals on chronic disease risks, and bioactive compounds in natural products and herbal remedies for anticancer and antiviral activity.


Councillor: Professor Fereidoon Shahidi, Canada

Professor Fereidoon Shahidi is a University Research Professor at Memorial University of Newfoundland (MUN). He is cross appointed to the Departments of Biology as well as Ocean Sciences. He also holds a number of Distinguished visiting professorships in universities in China and Taiwan. His research is in different areas of functional foods and nutraceuticals with emphasis on food phenolics, antioxidants, lipids and structured lipids as well as proteins and biopeptides among others. He also works in different areas of seafood science and by-product utilization. He is an IAFoST Fellow and holds 10 patents. He is the Founder of the International Society for Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods (ISNFF) and the Founding Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Functional Foods. He also is an editor of Food Chemistry and editorial boards of several journals.

IAFoST Academy President: Professor Ruth Oniang’o, Kenya

Ruth Oniang’o  is Professor of Food and Nutritional Sciences. She is educated in the USA and Kenya (Washington State University Pullman and University of Nairobi), founder and Editor-in-Chief of the African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition and Development (AJFAND), founder and Director of Rural Outreach Africa, an NGO working to uplift the lives of resource poor smallholder farmers, especially women, and creating jobs for the young. She has served in advisory capacity for various UN agencies, the World Bank, Kenya Government and Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. Professor Oniang’o is an IAFoST Fellow, and a winner of two national medals in Kenya, 2014 IFAMA (International Food and Agribusiness Management Association) award for a lifetime of distinguished service and 2014 Fortune magazine’s ’30 Women Achievers’ globally in Food and Drink.

President – Dr. Dietrich Knorr, Austria

Dietrich Knorr is Professor Emeritus of Technische Universität Berlin and an IAFoST Fellow. He is immediate Past President of the European Federation of Food Science and Technology (EFFoST), the European regional grouping of IUFoST. He has received the EFFoST Lifetime Achievement Award and the ASABE International Food Engineering Award in 2013; the IAEF Life Achievement Award in 2011; and the Nicolas Appert Award in 2003. Dr. Knorr has received the Marcel Loncin Research Prize of the Institute of Food Technologists, the EFFoST Outstanding Research Award, as well as the Alfred-Mehlitz Medaille of the German Association of Food Technologists. Currently serving as the Editor of the Journal Innovative Food Science and Emerging Technologies, Prof. Knorr has published approximately 500 scientific papers supervised approx. 300 Diploma/Master Thesis and approx. 75 PhD theses. He holds 7 patents.